[PORTUGUÊS]

No mês passado, eu sofri um pequeno acidente. Ao subir as escadas no meu prédio, eu tropecei. Como eu estava com um travessa de vidro na mão, cai por cima. A primeira coisa que pensei: “Ai, a travessa da minha mãe!”. Ainda no chão, comecei a recolher os cacos de vidro quando vi minha camisa rasgada e ensanguentada. Não foi bonito o que eu vi quando abri a minha blusa, mas pelo menos eu não estava sentindo dor. Não até levar os pontos no hospital, apesar da anestesia. Lá, na sala com o médico e a enfermeira, longe das vistas dos meus pais, eu me permiti chorar. Eu chorei pelo susto. E chorei mais ainda pela cicatriz que ganharia na parte superior da mama, uma marca num local visível. Apesar dos “poderia ter sido pior”, “poderia ter acertado sua jugular”, “poderia ter sido mais profundo” da enfermeira, eu só pensava: “poderia não ter sido comigo”. De volta em casa, precisei desabafar mais. Ao longo dos dias, eu me senti menos… mulher de alguma forma. Uma marca no rosto de um galã não tem o mesmo efeito que uma marca no corpo de uma mulher. Maldita cicatriz num mundo machista!

Meus amigos me visitaram, ligaram, oraram e me enviaram mensagem. Um amor comovente e inesperado. Um amor que fez com que eu me auto reafirmasse e focasse no que era importante. Um retorno a essência. Então, as frases da enfermeira fizeram mais sentido. Então, as histórias de verdadeiras e grandes superações me fizeram perceber a pequenez do meu problema. Perguntaram-me se dali em diante eu usaria blusas fechadas. Não, eu não tenho essa intenção.

Assim, para o dia internacional das mulheres, proponho que cada uma de nossas marcas (aparentes ou não, permanentes ou temporárias) sejam respeitadas, principalmente por nós mesmas, pois elas contam uma vivência, contam as coisas que aprendemos, contam o que superamos, isto é, contam a nossa história. Uma história que nos torna não só mais mulheres mas, sobretudo, mais humanas e reais. Feliz dia!

ps: na foto acima, eu ainda estava com os pontos. A cicatriz não ficará imperceptível ao longo do tempo. Tive uma reação alérgica ao antibiótico, mas já estou melhor e com futuros posts em mente. Como cantaria Helen Reddy: “I’m strong, I’m invincible, I’m woman”.

[ENGLISH]

Last month, I suffered a small accident. Climbing the stairs in my building, I stumbled. As I was holding a glass pyrex on my hands, I fell upon it. The first thing I thought: “Oh, the pyrex of my mother!”. Still on the ground, I began to collect the shards of glass when I saw my torn and bloody shirt. It wasn’t pretty what I saw when I opened my shirt, but at least I wasn’t in pain. Not until to take seven points on my left breast in the hospital, despite the anesthetic. There, in the room with the doctor and the nurse, out of sight of my parents, I allowed myself to cry. I cried because of the scared moment. And I cried even more because of the new scar that I gained, an scar on a visible place. Despite the nurse’s sentences such as “could have been worse”, “the shards could have hurted your neck”, “could have been deeper”, I just thought : “could have been not with me”. Back home, I needed to vent more. Throughout the days, I felt less… woman in some way. A mark on the face of a heartthrob is not the like a mark on the body of a woman. Damn scar in a sexist world!

My friends visited me, called me, prayed and sent me messages. A moving and unexpected love. A love that allowed me reaffirm myself and made me focus on what was important. A return to the essence. Then, the nurse’s sentences made ​​more sense. Then, the real and inspirational stories about overcoming challenges made ​​me realize the smallness of my problem. I was asked if henceforth I would wear closed shirts. No, I have no such intention.

So, to the International Women’s Day, I propose that each one of our marks (apparent or not, permanent or not), our “imperfections” be respected, specially for us, because they tell what we’ve learned, they tell what we have experienced, what we have overcomed, or better, they tell our history. A history that makes us not only more women but, above all, more human and real. Happy Day!

ps: in the photo above, I still was with points. The scar wont be imperceptible over the time. I had an alergic reaction to the antibiotic, but I’m better and prepairing some posts. As Helen Reddy would sing: “I’m strong, I’m invincible, I’m woman!”.