bloglovin

Shorts (similar here) & Bag: C&A (BR) / Shirt (vintage): Almanacco (italian thrift store) / Belt: Arezzo (BR) / Shoes (similar model here): Santa Lolla (BR)

[POR] Quando eu era criança, uma mulher me chamou para representar Maria numa encenação da Igreja. Eu arregalei os meus olhos e prontamente recusei dizendo que eu não poderia ser Maria porque eu era negra! Ahhh, quantas vezes nós já deixamos de fazer algo por pensar que não somos aptos? Pois bem, hoje, ao final da Missa, vi uma linda menininha negra representar Maria! Ora, ora quando aquele mulher me chamou, eu não entendi a magnitude de seus ideais, não entendi a relevância que o meu ato teria! Simplesmente, vi os empecilhos! Isso me faz lembrar da vezes que passei em frente de uma loja, olhei para uma roupa e pensei: “isto não é para mim”! Isso me faz lembrar de que já deixei de acompanhar  amigos/familiares em um determinado lugar pensando que aquilo dali não era para mim! Quanta bobagem e falta de perspicácia! Em tempos de modelos anoréxicas, também temos modelos curvilíneas! Em tempos de mídia branca, tivemos a primeira negra (a atriz Dorothy Dandridge) estampando a capa de uma revista (Time) em 1954. Enquanto Amazon Eve é a modelo mais alta do mundo com 2,03cm, Nicole Fox ganhou o America’s Next Petite Top Model! Bem, não vou me prolongar, porém vos deixo com a seguinte frase: nós mesmos criamos nossas próprias barreiras, então nós mesmos podemos destruí-las! Tenham um maravilhoso início de semana.

 

[ING] When I was a child, a woman called me to represent Saint Mary in some kind of staging in the Church. I widened my eyes and promptly refused this, saying that I could not be Saint Mary because I was black! Ahhh, how many times we have failed to do something because we think that we are not able? Well, today, at the end of Mass, I saw a beautiful little black girl representing Saint Mary! Well, well, when that woman called me, I did not understand the magnitude of her ideals, I did not understand how important my act would be! Simply, I saw the obstacles! This reminds me of the times that I spent in front of a store, looked at a dress and thought: “this is not for me”! This reminds me when I didn’t go out with my friends/family to a certain place thinking that place was too funny, too cool for me! How much nonsense and lack of insight! In times of anorexic models, we also have curvilinear models! In times of white media, we had the first black woman (the actress Dorothy Dandridge) stamping the cover of a magazine (Time Magazine) in 1954. While Amazon Eve is the highest model in the world with 2.03 cm, Nicole Fox won the America’s Next Top Petite Model! Well, I will not continue, but I leave you with the following sentence: we create our own barriers, then we can destroy them! Have a wonderful week.

Place: Igreja de Nossa Senhora da Penha de França (Rio de janeiro, Brasil)

Source: Google Image

– Cri.

PS.: I’m surprised with the comments in the previous post! Thank you so much for sharing a piece of your lives, girls!